Curriculum Page

Curriculum for Excellence

The four capacities Scottish Education is currently going through a process of change, both in terms of what is taught in schools and how. These changes therefore impact dramatically upon the design of the curriculum structure for Inverclyde Academy and will shape the way that our pupils learn, now and in the future. Staff have already been working together to establish common approaches to the teaching of each subject area and to ensure that every child is prepared for the changes ahead.

The 3-18 curriculum aims to ensure that all children and young people in Scotland develop the attributes, knowledge and skills they will need to flourish in life, learning and work.
The knowledge, skills and attributes learners will develop will allow them to demonstrate four key capacities – to be successful learners, confident individuals, responsible citizens and effective contributors.

Inverclyde Academy does not operate in isolation and discussions have already taken place with our key primary partners to ensure that there is a smooth transition from primary school into secondary education. Curriculum for excellence highlights the following series of key learning stages:

Early: the pre-school years and P1 or later for some.
First: to the end of P4, but earlier or later for some.
Second: To the end of P7, but earlier or later for some.
Third and Fourth: S1 to S3, but earlier for some. The fourth level broadly equates to SCQF level 4.
Senior phase: S4 – S6 and college or other means of study

Changes are already underway to revise the Scottish Qualifications Framework, which will result in the disappearance of the Standard Grade and Intermediate courses and exams. These courses will be replaced with new National Qualifications and assessments at SCQF levels four and five. The new qualifications are scheduled to be assessed formally for the first time, in 2013 and necessitate change for every subject department. So, as you can see, there are many new challenges ahead for the teachers and pupils of Inverclyde Academy.

In the meantime, this page includes links to helpful information about the Scottish Government "Curriculum for Excellence" changes. Please click on the links to find out more.

Progression into S5:
The progression from S4 is as follows:

  • NAT 3 --  Intermediate I (which is equivalent to Standard Grade General)
  • NAT 4 -- Intermediate II (which is equivalent to Standard Grade Credit)
  • NAT 5  -- Higher

Having moved on to one of the S5/6 course levels, a pupil will then progress through them, moving from one level, to the next more advanced one, e.g. Intermediate II to Higher Pupils attaining a Higher award in S5 may progress if they choose, to Advanced Higher in S6.

S5/6 How levels are reported on
Higher, Intermediate II and Intermediate I levels all have two kinds of assessment: there are unit assessments based on the different component parts of the course, which are assessed internally in the school, and an overall award which is based on the internal assessments, together with an external assessment (which usually includes a final exam).

While any pupil passing any internal assessments will have those reported on his or her Scottish Qualification Certificate (SQC) to gain an overall award a pupil must have been successful in all internal assessments, and in the external assessment.
Higher, Intermediate II and Intermediate I overall awards are all reported on a scale 1-6 as follows:
                                        1-2  ‘A’ award
                                        3-4  ‘B’ award
                                        5-6 ‘ C’ award

These awards represent different levels of pass, with ‘A’ being the highest. Where a pupil has narrowly failed one level he or she will be awarded a ’D’ award at that level.

© 2007-2018 Inverclyde Academy